We Are Hiring!
Interested in a role for growth, impact, and transformative change?
Apply Today!

Families Learning from Families Virtual Roundtable: Session 2--The Pandemic a Year Later--Addressing the Social Emotional Needs of Students and Families

Accessibility questions for all events, please contact the center at (317) 278-3493 or email at glec@iupui.edu. All accommodation requests must be made within two weeks of event date.

 

Families Learning from Families Virtual Roundtable: Session 2--The Pandemic a Year Later
Apr 24 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
ET
Online
Audience: 
General Admission

 

12 noon-1 PM EST

11 AM-12 noon CT

10 AM-11 AM MT

 

Families Learning from Families Virtual Roundtables are dynamic, online learning experiences aimed at providing an opportunity for parents/ caregivers with different backgrounds (i.e. families of Color, families with varied religious backgrounds, families with children with disabilities, families from disinvested communities, non-traditional families) to talk with and ask questions of an expert in family and community supports, and in home and school partnership. In this series, families will engage in discussion with the aim of sharing ideas and resources related to supporting students and families during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

 

During Session 2, we will talk with and ask questions of parent-professionals.  Star Edison, LMSW, and Lisa McIntyre, MS, LPC, are both parents and mental health professionals working with families and children. They will offer a framework for the mental health and well-being of adolescents and young adults and will facilitate conversations about how parents/caregivers can engage educators/schools can advocate for the social-emotional health of the young people they love and support.