Equity Leaders Institute-(Re)claim, (Re)vitalize, (Re)imagine & (Re)commit: Centering Classroom Teachers in Anti-Oppressive Pedagogy

Accessibility questions for all events, please contact the center at (317) 278-3493 or email at glec@iupui.edu. All accommodation requests must be made within two weeks of event date.

 

PDF icon Download Flyer (1.46 MB)
Sep 23 2021 (All day) to Sep 24 2021 (All day)
ET
Online
Audience: 
General Admission

Note: This event is filled to capacity

 

Equity Leaders Institutes are transformative two-day learning experiences intended to increase participants’ capacities to advance and sustain equitable practices in teaching and learning. Organizations are encouraged to send teams; space is limited to 60 participants, and interested individuals are asked to submit an application online. Organizations are invited to register in teams including curriculum administrators, instructional coaches, general and special education teachers, and teachers of English to speakers of other languages (TESOL). This year's  Institute is designed to empower classroom teachers through the facilitation of anti-oppressive curriculum and instruction.

Institute Hours

Sign In 9:00 am EST (8:00 am CT, 7:00 am MT) 

Start Time  9:30 am EST (8:30 am CT, 7:30 am MT) 

End Time    5:00 pm EST (4:00 pm CT; 3:00 pm MT)

TENTATIVE AGENDA

Objectives: Participants will:

  • Recognize and collaboratively define common practices that comprise the hidden curriculum.
  • Identify and critically examine the hidden curriculum embedded in school and classroom approaches to lesson design.
  • Learn about a state and/or local education agency leading successful equity efforts in the Center’s region.
  • Identify key lesson plan elements to leverage for anti-oppressive pedagogy.
  • Discuss the ways in which the lesson plan serves as a link between the curriculum and instructional practices.
  • Identify opportunities in lesson planning to de-center dominant identities and disrupt hegemonic practices that marginalize students who embody minoritized identities. 
  • Practice embedding universally designed culturally sustaining instructional practices into lesson planning to create optimal conditions for the engagement of learners from diverse backgrounds and identities.

 

Why an Application?

The Equity Leaders Institute (ELI) is a unique learning opportunity for educators and community leaders currently leading equity efforts in their local settings; planned activities and content requires a pre-requisite understanding of foundational equity principles and concepts. The application process helps to ensure an appropriate match of participants to the learning experience level, as well as assists program developers in the design of ELI content and activities. Applications must be completed individually; group applications are not permitted. If for some reason this proves to be a barrier to your attendance or the attendance of individuals from your organization, please contact us at glec@iupui.edu or call us at (317) 278-3493. 

 

Accessibility

  • Communication access real-time translation (CART)
  • Alt-text image descriptions in presentation
  • PDF files of all presentations available before event [alternate formats available upon request]
  • Additional accommodations upon request

 

Accessibility questions for all events, please contact the center at (317) 278-3493 or email at glec@iupui.edu. Requests should be made at least two weeks from event date(s).

 

Closed - Are you or have you been a Tier III Systemic Equity Partner with us? We invite you to apply for the Equity Innovator Honor!